Learn how to update Lobby and apps in it.
Lobby automatically checks for updates when any of the admin pages (admin/) are visited. This is done only once on a session even if getting response from server was failed.
You can manually check for updates by going to the Updates Page (Lobby -> Settings -> Updates) (lobby.dev/admin/update.php)
If an update is available, an icon will appear on the top panel saying "Updates are available". When you click it, you will see the Updates page.
The Update page will show the updates available. You also have the option to once again check with the server for updates.
Updating is a sensitive process. In case an update fails or the latest version has a bug, your data may be lost. So we recommend you do a backup before doing an update.
Go to Updates page. There you will see two buttons :
The database in which Lobby is installed will be entirely extracted into an
.sql file. This is only available for MySQL and for it, your Linux/Unix system must have the
mysqldump package. This won't work on Windows.
For an SQLite database, it's easier. Just copy the
.sqlite file at the path you chose during Lobby installation. The default location is :
You may also want to backup the
contents folder and
contents folder contains all your installed apps and data. The
config.php file has your configuration.
If a latest version of Lobby is released, the Update page will show the latest version, it's release date and release notes.
You must read the release notes before updating, because it will have any important messages to know before updating.
Here is the procedure to update Lobby :
Do a backup
Lobby Admin ->
Check for Updates button
Read the release notes before updating
Start Updatewill be seen. Click on it to start the update
If the update is interrupted (during download), you can start again by doing the same steps above.
Do a backup
Get the latest Lobby server version
Unpack the zip file that you downloaded to a temporary location
Open the Lobby folder where the
config.php file exists. If you're using Lobby Standalone, the folder will be called
Delete the old
admin folders in your Lobby folder
Copy the new
admin directories to this Lobby folder, in place of the previously deleted directories
Upload the individual files from the new
contents folder to your existing
contents folder in Lobby folder, overwriting existing files
Do NOT delete your existing
contents folder. Do NOT delete any files or folders in your existing
content directory (except for the one being overwritten by new files).